I usually write my slice at the end of the day after mulling over all that has happened in the past 24 hours.  The big things, the little things, the “was that even a thing” things.

I find that, most often,  I write about the littles…for they truly are the bigs.

Today, though, I’m posting early.

It’s Spring Break, I’m on a stay-cation (a nice way of saying I can’t afford a trip), and I’ve already had occasion to ponder….

What follows comes from a post I shared this morning in my little Facebook group called Shape Up Sisters.  This group was born out of a desire to share the trials and tribulations of finding fitness.   And, quite honestly, it’s often my health (physical and emotional) journal.   My Sisters keep me honest and on track and I’m so very thankful.

Healthy is an outfit…  I like that.

I turn 50 in 2 days and will be 10 pounds from my goal on the scale.   This is don’t like….
But what I DO like is the way I’m feeling in my skin these days.

I DO like that my body doesn’t hurt when I get out of bed each morning.

I DO like that I can push myself to do more… and that my body responds.

I DO like that I’m being conscious about what goes into my body — even if it’s m&ms.

I DO like that my clothes are fitting better — even if I’ve been eating m&ms.

I DO like catching glimpses of muscles I didn’t know were there.

I DO like hitting my step goal every day.
But most of all, I DO like who I am.  I am blessed with dear friends and a tremendous family.  I enjoy my new job and treasure my new “work family.”  I am invigorated by the passion of peeps new to Relay.  I am so very, very proud of the kids – the Boychild,  Girlchild,  Step-loves, and Grands.
I get to listen to the swallows, ruin my manicure in the garden, and watch the sunset in the beautiful Texas sky.

And I get to sleep in this week of Spring Break.
Yes.  I am 10 pounds away from goal, my thighs have extra texture,  my arms have cushion, and my belly will never lie flat…  but!!
I am healthy.   I am blessed.  I am 2 days away from 50…. and it’s all good.

Then sings my soul.

