image

Came home earlier than usual today
And was greeted by Ms. Lil and THAT FACE.
(Really. THAT face!  No filter…. THAT face!)

THAT FACE that says, “Excuse me…?  You’re not supposed to be home now.”

THAT FACE that says, “I sure hope you’re not expecting me to get up and greet you or anything!”

THAT.

FACE.

And it got me to thinking of the life of a cat –
Especially our LillyCat.

Technically, she’s my Girlchild’s.
(But not really.)
She came to us a rescue
Because, in the words of said Girlchild,
“She needs a forever home, too, Momma.”

Technically, we adopted her.
(But not really.)
It’s more like she allows us to live in her home.
Her forever home  — lest we forget.

She goes through spells when she refuses to touch the floor.
(Yes.  Really.)
Sometimes for weeks at a time.
(Yes.  Really.)
Goodness only knows why…
(But maybe she does.)

She’s as sweet as can be to my Girlchild and me.
She plays with the Hubs…
(Sometimes.)
But is mean, mean, MEAN to anyone else.

And Heaven help the Boychild when he stops by….
He had the nerve to move home with his kitty for a while.
And let’s just say he’s never been forgiven.

Never.

She does not understand the concept of weekends and sleeping in.
(But wait!  Maybe she does.)
She will enter the bedroom at 5 am sharp
And find the LOUDEST possible place to step, stretch, and knead.

Yes.
Even in the midst of a No Carpet phase.

Don’t ask me how.
Only Lil knows….
But OH how she knows.

I hate to reward her,
But have GOT to get back to sleep,
So I give up
And get up
And tend to her needs.

(Have I mentioned I think she might be smarter than me??)

Oh, Lilly.
Sweet Lilly.
I do love you so….

But THAT FACE!
Yep.
That face.
Truth be told, I’d do just about anything for it.

That face.
And that purr.
And that silly, weird kitty.

Thanks for making our house
The forever home
For THAT face.

Then sings my soul…..

